View Article

Current Articles | Archives | Search

Monday, March 3, 2014
Questions for President's "My Brother's Keeper" initiative
By tutormentor2 @ 10:00 AM :: 4532 Views :: 0 Comments :: Article Rating :: Articles about tutoring and mentoring programs
 

Below is part of the Black Star Project's March 3 newsletter.  As you look at the questions raised, read this blog article posted last week, with additional questions for leadership in America.

 

Black Star Logo

Making Progress; Moving Forward!
My Brother's Keeper Initiative
Crisis Grows for Young Black Men
American Promise
Charter Schools Expel 11 Times More
Are You Ready For Some Basketball?
U.S. Navy Mentors Students
Where Are the Black Male Teachers?
Links:
The Black Star Project's website:
Black Star Journal:
blackstarjournal.org
Become a Member:
Click Here
Event Calendar:
Like us on Facebook:

 

 
Changing the "Cradle to Prison" Pipeline to "Cradle to Career" 
and My Brother's Keeper Initiative
Monday March 3, 2014, 10 AM Eastern Time; 9:00 AM Central Time; 8:00 AM Mountain Time and 7:00 AM Pacific Time 
NCEBC Talk Radio with special guest:

Mr. David Johns 
Executive Director of White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for African Americans

 

This is a LIVE broadcast hosted by  NCEBC Board Member and Huffington Post Writer, Dr. Eric Cooper, President and Founder of the National Urban Alliance and co-host, Dr. Nicole McZeal Walters, Associate Dean, Graduate Programs, School of Education at University of St. Thomas-Houston. 

 

Question for Mr. Johns on the My Brother's Keeper Initiative:
  1. Will the organizations who have been doing the work with Black men and boys for the last 10, 15, 20 years be included in this initiative.  Few have been mentioned so far.
  2. Who are the elders from the Black community involved with this initiative?  
  3. Who will control the release and flow of monies and proposals for this initiative? For example, who will make the decisions in Chicago?
  4. Will this initiative connect to the work that has already been done with Black men and boys, or will it try to create a totally new initiative?
Click Here to Listen Live to Mr. David Johns.  
You may also dial 714-242-5228 to listen and participate from your telephone.
Rating
Comments
Only registered users may post comments.
4anime